September 27, 2019

Newest member joins J-Lab! Neil Jayan Anirudhan will soon join his brother Tiberius (Tubby) GreenBall I in lab training sessions.

April 3, 2018

Congratulations to Edgar Mendoza for winning the prestigious 2018 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship!

March 19, 2018

Prof. Jayan wins NSF CAREER Award for studying role of external field induced forces in ceramic manufacturing. Details here.

February 20, 2018

Congratulations! Laisuo Su wins a best poster presentation award at the American Vacuum Society (AVS) Western Pennsylvania Chapter meeting.

February 13, 2018

Maxwell Telmer awarded a scholarship to intern at the Air Force Research Lab in Albuquerque, New Mexico!! Congratulations.

October 12, 2017

Prof. Jayan selected as one of Pittsburgh Magazine’s 40 Under 40 Awardees – Press article

July 18, 2017

Article about Prof. Jayan’s Minecraft based learning approach published on CMU homepage.

July 10, 2017

Prof. Jayan wins Army Research Office (ARO) Young Investigator Award 2017

June 8, 2017

JLab receives funding from Department of Energy (DOE) for ElectroCat Project led by CMU Prof. Shawn Litster. Press article

May 15, 2017

Congratulations to Phil Smith for winning a Center for Machine Learning & Health (CMLH) Fellowship in Digital Health!

May 14, 2017

Prof. Jayan wins The Incline Magazine’s Who’s Next:Technology Award – 18 People Transforming Pittsburgh 2017. Press article

May 2, 2017

Prof. Jayan wins Berkman Faculty Development Fund. CMU publishes article about Prof. Jayan’s work.

April 12, 2017

Congratulations to Nathan Nakamura for winning the highly competitive 2017 National Defense Science & Engineering (NDSEG) Fellowship!

March 31, 2017

Congratulations to JLab’s winners of the 2017 Milton Shaw award for research excellence by PhD students, which provides $1000 to support the winner’s presentation of their research at a conference.

Energy & Environment – Laisuo Su
Micro/Nanoengineering – Nathan Nakamura

February 20, 2017

Congratulations to Phil Smith for passing his PhD qualifying exams!